How to fit exercise into a busy schedule

busyw-800x675Eating clean works well for getting your weight¬†back on track but if you really want to see the weight drop off you’ll need to start putting more effort into getting your body to move.
I know how hard this can be, it regularly happens that I don’t have any motivation to work out or cycle somewhere. Fitting exercise into a busy schedule is also a tricky point but it doesn’t mean you should skip it. There are a lot of ways out there which allow you to get in a bit of exercise regardless of how busy you are. It doesn’t matter if you’re not exercising for at least 30 minutes, every extra step you take and every extra bit of effort will count towards your weight loss.


Where are the gaps in your time regime?


one-day-schedule-template-free-pdf-downlaodYou’re going to want to start off easy. To do this you’ll have to take a look at your daily schedule. Do you often go out somewhere? Are you inside most of the day? What do you do when you’re waiting for dinner to cook? All these tiny insignificant seeming habits can turn out to be of great importance when trying to add exercise into your schedule.
I work from home and I’m there for most of my day. Whenever I don’t have the motivation to do a full workout, I take a look at my schedule for that day. Am I going to the supermarket that day? If the answer is yes I’ll take a look at how many groceries I need. If it’s enough to fit into a backpack then I’ll cycle to the supermarket instead of taking the car. If I have to cycle 30 minutes to the supermarket, that means I’ll be cycling for at least 1 hour that day. For someone weighing 150 pounds (68 kilograms) this burns almost 300 calories and it only increases the heavier your weight is. Imagine shedding 300 out of the 500 calories needed to lose weight just by going to the supermarket!


Small steps have a big impact!


640px-push_up_psfIf I’m not going out I’ll take a look at my plans for that day. Will I be the one cooking dinner? Will I be taking a shower? If the answer to either of these questions is yes, I’ll look up some exercises I can do on the internet. Exercises include push-ups, squats, lunges, wall sit, and more. I would do these exercises whenever I can during the process of cooking dinner. I don’t have to watch the food the whole time. There’s more than enough time to get in some of those exercises when you’re waiting for the potatoes to boil or when you’ve put something in the oven. If you’re not tending to the food or doing something else in the kitchen then the excuses ‘I’m cooking dinner’ doesn’t work, sorry! When I’m going to take a shower I’ll make sure to get in 5 minutes of exercise before stepping in the shower. I’m going to get in the shower anyway so it doesn’t matter if I get a little sweaty.


You won’t even notice you’re working out!


article-1222101-06e943d7000005dc-329_233x423
Another great option is to buy something you can use while standing in one spot. Something like a dumbbell, hula hoop or kettle bell will work just great. You can then use these when you’re watching your favorite series or movie. Set a time that you’ll be doing this for and gradually increase it the more you do it. For example, hula hoop for 5 minutes when you start doing this. Gradually increase it during the week and aim to be able to do it for 10 minutes at the end of the week. Keep increasing it like this but make sure you stay safe and follow guidelines. You’ll be amazed how easily you shed the weight using this method, you won’t even notice you’re exercising after a while!


Special note!


7187433101_e10a1c3abeI’m currently working on developing a program which focuses on small things you can do each day to get into the habit of ¬†living a healthy lifestyle.
If you’d like to stay updated on this program and get the chance to receive the first week for free, leave a comment below or send me an email. My email can be found here.

Leave a Reply

